Lafayette Academy – ARC

About Lafayette

At The Lafayette Academy we understand that a child cannot adequately learn in school if he or she is not attending school or if the public school cannot meet his or her needs. Through the states Truancy Alternative Optional Education Program (TAOEP) Grant, we can help school attendance increase for truant students or teach them in a way they understand. This better prepares students for the workforce and allows them an enhanced chance to live a better lifestyle than that of their under-educated peers.  Students will be better prepared for life in general if they have the schooling required.

The Lafayette Academy is an alternative high school program which offers an educational option for chronic truants, truants, and retrieved dropouts. We offer students in grades 9-12 a program that addresses the problems of truancy, dropout prevention, and academic remediation. While we offer a core curriculum in English/Literature, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, Physical Education, and Health in a traditional classroom setting, we also present our students an opportunity to work at an accelerated rate through our credit recovery program. A concentrated focus in each learning area is placed on problem solving, communication, teamwork, decision-making, and the use of technology as outlined in the Illinois Learning Standards. In addition, an attempt is made to provide specific job related programs, classes, and life experiences to better equip students for adulthood when they exit the program.

About ARC

The Alternative Regional Center (ARC) program at The Lafayette Academy is designed to meet the needs of students who have struggled with their behavior in a traditional school environment. Eligible students for the program would qualify through the Multiple Suspension or Expulsion categories and are referred to the program by their home school administrators.

The ARC program offers these students a fresh start in a more supportive yet highly structured environment with a better ability to meet the needs of each individual student. We offer students a full curriculum in a traditional classroom setting and a credit recovery option. Students can also expect a concentrated focus in each learning area placed on problem solving, communication, teamwork, decision-making, and the use of technology as outlined in the Illinois Learning Standards. In addition, an attempt is made to provide specific job related programs, classes, and life experiences to better equip students for adulthood when they exit the program.  

Staff
Chip Marshall – Director/Principal cmarshall@roe1.net
Amy Fink – Office Manager afink@roe1.net
Debbie Ervin – Student Services dervin@roe1.net
Debi Anders – Program Assistant danders@roe1.net
Faculty
Michael Cheek – Science/SS Teacher mcheek@roe1.net
Chad Haffer – Business/English Teacher chaffer@roe1.net
Marybeth Young – Lab Supervisor myoung@roe1.net
Doug Baur – Lab Supervisor dbaur@roe1.net

Links and Documents