Illinois Licensure for Educators
A primary service of the Regional Office of Education is to assist applicants with educator licensure. We stay current with changing regulations, laws, and policies in educator licensure and act as a liaison between the Regional Office of Education and the State Educator Licensure Board for applicants, school districts, and other interested parties.
If you have questions regarding licensure, please contact one of our offices.
New Licensure Updates:
"Did You Know" Videos
Test of Basic Skills: https://vimeo.com/362389684
Application Status: https://vimeo.com/362389693
Rush Requests: https://vimeo.com/362389699
Short-Term Approval: https://vimeo.com/362389673
FY 2021 Professional Development Cycle In the 2015-20 cycle (licenses renewing in FY 2021) and every cycle thereafter, all educators are required to complete 120 professional development hours, regardless of the number of or types of degrees held. The only exception is those educators who are National Board Certified, who will only owe 60 hours. Please share this information with administrators and educators, as educators who are up for renewal July 1, 2020, will need to have completed 120 hours of PD (or 60 if National Board Certified.)
Senate Bill 1952 was signed on August 7, 2019, by Governor JB Pritzker. It was effective Immediately. Public Act 101-0220 eliminates the requirement that licensure candidates pass a test of basic skills to receive a Professional Educator License (PEL).
If you want to become a substitute teacher, we will help you speed through the process, follow these 3 easy steps below:
- Create an ELIS account with the Illinois State Board of Education
Access ELIS here: https://sec3.isbe.net/IWASNET/login.aspx
Learn How to Create an ELIS account here: https://vimeo.com/180601205
- Apply for a Substitute License (SUB) or a Short Term Substitute License (STS) in your ELIS account.
Log into your ELIS account and click on SIGN UP NOW in the left side margin to apply for the correct license.
The SUB License requires a bachelor's degree and costs $50.00.
The STS License requires either an associate's degree or 60 hours of college coursework and costs $25.00.
- Complete the Substitute Authorization Packet.
Download the Substitute Licensure Packet from here. Adams/Pike Sub Packet OR Brown/Cass/Morgan/Scott Sub Packet. Please bring the completed packet with you to your fingerprint appointment.
Licensure for Brown, Cass, Morgan, and Scott Counties
Contact Ginger Scott in the Quincy Office at this time.
Educator Effectiveness Customer Service
Monday - Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST
Option 1 - Account Access/Technical Issues
Option 2 - Application Status
Option 3 - Licensure Requirements
Option 4 - Professional Development and Administrator Academies
Option 5 - Compliance and Teacher Qualifications
Option 6 - Application / Registration Fees
Educator & Substitute Fingerprinting
Educator Fingerprinting: Please bring the Educator Licensure Form, that was provided to you by your district, to your fingerprint appointment.
Substitute Fingerprinting: Download the Substitute Licensure Packet. Please bring the completed packet with you to your fingerprint appointment.
Fingerprinting in Quincy, IL
Fingerprinting in Jacksonville, IL
Renewal & Professional Development for Educators
If you hold one of the following licenses, you must renew it every five years. All endorsements are renewed with the license.
Beginning with the 2015 – 2020 renewal cycle, and every cycle thereafter, teachers and school support services personnel must complete 120 hours of professional development to renew regardless of the number or types of degrees held.
|License Type||Required PD Hours||Registration Fees (Yearly)||Registration Fees (Five Year Cycle)|
|Professional Educator License (PEL) endorsed in teaching or school support personnel||120 hours||$10.00/year||$50.00/5-year cycle|
|Professional Educator License (PEL) endorsed in administration||100 hours AND 1 Administrator Academy (AA) per fiscal year that you are employed in a position that requires an administrative endorsement for 50% or more FTE.||$10.00/ year||$50.00/ 5-year cycle|
|Educator License w/ Stipulations/ Chief School Business Official||100 hours AND 1 Administrator Academy (AA) per fiscal year that you are employed in a position that requires an administrative endorsement for 50% or more FTE.||$10.00/ year||$50.00/ 5-year cycle|
|Substitute License||No required professional development||$10.00/ year||$50.00/ 5-year cycle|
|Paraprofessional License||No required professional development||$5.00/ year||$30.00/ 5-year cycle|